Prints

May 5, 2014

In the next week we will be transitioning our 2 year old to her “big girl” room to make way for the nursery to become the baby’s room.  Even though we have lived in the house for 8 months now I hadn’t found the time or inspiration to get anything up on the walls of either room.  That said, I of course have a vision: a safari theme for the nursery and a black and white equestrian theme for my toddler’s room.

This is the “nursery.”  Dark gray walls (BM Marina Gray), white crib, black and cherry, Hitchcock, dresser (like this) from my childhood bedroom, and a moroccan berber rug I got on one of Rugs USA’s 65% off sales.  9 x 12 rugs aren’t cheep but on sale the Rugs USA one is a steal and super soft.  It just takes about a month or two of vacuuming to reduce the shed.  (Or rolling around on it with your toddler in Lululemon pants.  Those things are like a lint magnet.)  Please excuse the grainy Instagram photo.

MarinaGrayNursury

There is a huge empty wall adjacent to the crib I want to fill with Audubon like safari prints.  Something a bit more sophisticated than your run of the mill nursery animals.  I found these prints on Etsy, a shop called Swanborough Prints and fell in love.  A couple in England make these water colors and digitally clean and enhance the illustrations.  I love that they are hand made.

Here are some prints I have flagged.

il_570xN.508278363_kasd il_570xN.509702852_itum il_570xN.509705828_n4md il_570xN.509710124_fwv9 il_570xN.509764505_lgf1 il_570xN.509768915_3ynw il_570xN.509770101_px4w il_570xN.510627897_qonk il_570xN.516410030_c7e4

I’d love to frame them in a black bamboo.  I found this website to order frames, but it it still pretty pricey.  I may wait to see how the prints come in and see if I can use a standard 8×10 mat and frame them from that.

Giraffe print framedFor my little girl’s “big girl” room. I went with Benjamin Moore, Blanched Coral and a black and white theme.  I think I am going to incorporate an equestrian theme.  I have a photo shoot with some horses this week and am hoping to get a shot of my own to blow up in her room.  I of course and totally appropriating my love of animals and horses into my children’s room, but I figure it is better than “Princess” crap, right?

Screen Shot 2014-05-01 at 10.00.57 AM

I took this shot about a year ago, and love it, but cannot for the life of me find the high res or raw version.  Damn you bad work flow…lesson learned.

photo

I am also mounting some shallow shelves up the whole wall to act as a library.  Children’s books are so beautiful and colorful, why not incorporate them into the decor.  Plus, little ones love that cover visual to help them pick out a book.  Those little spines get lost in a sea of books so easily when stacked in a traditional bookshelf.

ShallowShelves

2 Responses to “Prints”

  1. Lynn said

    Love the space. Make sure the Elephant trunks are up in the pics.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 201 other followers

