Garden planning

April 29, 2014

I am in full blown nesting mode which includes getting our yard spruced up for summer.  Even though we have owned our new home for just over a year now, we have not spent a spring or summer living there yet, so my landscaping plans include mostly cleaning things up and finishing fencing in the back yard.  Most importantly I want a small vegetable garden for our toddler to help grow and pick.  I think it is so important for little ones to know where and how their food come to them and a backyard garden is the perfect place to start.  I am collaborating with my sister-in-law, urban gardener extraordinaire and owner of The Savvy Hen, Melissa Winchester.  I sent her some photos of my back yard in full sunlight and what veggies and fruits we like, with that and our garden zone according to zip code, she is compiling some suggestions for plants and dos and don’t of creating a garden.  More on that in a full blog post, but for now I have some raised, cedar, garden beds from One Kings Lane to put together and some yard clean up to do.

SpringGardening-1 SpringGardening-2

SpringGardening-3 SpringGardening-4

Here are the One Kings Lane cedar beds I got.  Since I am on a time crunch I figured these would be much easier to put together than making my own, and at $65 each a great deal.  I would spend that in supplies, gas and time trying to make my own.  Perfect for this novice.  I’ll report back with a full post as we put them together and plant them.

Product_YQE10000_Image_1

2 Responses to “Garden planning”

  1. Eleanor said

    How big are they?

    • Sarah Winchester said

      Only 2×4 but my sister in law recommended doing thing like raspberries and blackberries, that come back each year along the fence line.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 201 other followers

