Reality Check

August 8, 2013

Last week I had a huge reality and priority check. Midway on my daily drive between our new home currently under renovation and my in-laws house, where were are camped out, my 1 1/2 year old had had enough. “All done! All done!” She kept screaming while doing the sign language we had so diligently taught her to help her communicate. All done! I hear ya sister. I had been dragging her all over kingdom come trying to work on the house, work on a video project, schedule some photo shoot, work on my website, while throwing her on a playground with a babysitter here and there. We had all had enough and it took her yelling it at me for 20 minutes straight for it to sink in. I needed to step back and realize my priorities. So I have been trying to do just that…as best as I can. ┬áThere is only so much I can so, successfully, in one day. Fortunately we are now spending some quality family time at the beach in Sea Island, GA. We scheduled this trip around the floors being refinished so fingers crossed they are complete when we return home. For now those worries are a million miles away. And I am focused on my biggest priorities….hubby and baby (although she is basically a full on toddler now.)

20130807-103708.jpg

2 Responses to “Reality Check”

  1. Eleanor said

    Funny how that happens isn’t it?
    Enjoy this time and remember that this, too, shall pass.
    xoxo

  2. cecilia said

    Sarah, I love that you taught her sign language. I did with mine too (just the basics — more, please, thank you, all done). It is so difficult to try an remember to be in the moment. Today, Audrey was playing with my phone and pulled up a photo of her from 2 years ago. I looked down at the photo, and she looked so tiny. The time goes by so fast, and balancing it all and having something left for you is a challenge that I’m still hoping to find answers to!! Enjoy her.

    I put this link ( http://chrysulawinegar.com/2010/02/16/work-life-stories-the-mother-of-invention/ ) in one of my posts from a couple of weeks ago about Gabrielle Blair (Design Mom) and how she manages….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers

