Boston You’re My Home

April 16, 2013

I have lived in Boston almost 4 years now and jumped into my new home with all that I had.  I moved here to be with the love of my life and do all those things your do.  Get married, make new friends, start a family, and decided to start a business and new career.  It has been one of the best decisions of my life.  Living in Boston has been the best.  The character, the history, the people; all so rich and beautiful in a way truly unique to Boston and New England.  As the events of yesterday began to unfold I was tucked away in my Beacon Hill apartment.  My baby was quietly napping, our babysitter had the day off due to the Marathon and I was writing this blog post. about how important it is to to find the time to truly be present with your loved ones everyday.  I started hearing a ton of sirens and then got a text from my sister-in-law asking if I was okay, followed quickly by a text from my husband from and unknown number saying he was okay and where were we.  As information unfolded and I began to realize was was happening a 1/4 mile from my apartment I tried to keep my calm.  I knew my husband was at a work event right at the finish line, watching the marathon, but he had just texted me from a computer at a friends house near by.  I later learned he was in a restaurant 300 yards from the blasts.  He heard the blasts, confered with a friend, decided those were bomb blasts and quickly exited the emergency exit of the restaurant.  He literally ran to a friend’s house nearby as he was on the other side of the race from our home.  We were not able to have much contact as the cell lines were jammed, but we decided he should stay put for a bit while we figured out what was actually going on.  I hooked up our land line (finally), tried not to turn on the TV (my one year old doesn’t need to see her mom hysterical) and waited.  Steve finally made it home around 6pm and we all breathed a sigh of great relief.  What chaos.  What senselessness.  How silly my daily stresses seem.  I love Boston with all my heart and truly consider it home.  In my four short years here I have seen they are a tough, resilient people.  It is a city with such history.  A history which intimately includes the Boston Marathon.  My thoughts and prayers are with those who right now are in the hospital fighting for life and limb.  Boston is lucky enough to have some of the most talented doctors and medical professionals in the world.  My thoughts are with them and the city I love.  Boston.

Here are some photos from my Boston posts over the past 4 years.untitled-3

peak2 photo-1-e1335299526549 photo-4a1 photo-21 photo2halloweenweekend_oct_30_2009-61 halloweenweekend_oct_30_2009-81  img_3135 img_3139 img_3491 img_7800 img_7805 untitled-1-21 img_8204 img_1915 img_51521   img_1889

in-the-garden

4 Responses to “Boston You’re My Home”

  1. Georgina said

    These photos are so breathtakingly gorgeous and ooze Boston from each pixel. Thank you for posting them and I am so glad to hear you and your family/friends are all okay xo

  2. [...] appreciate the sentiment from other Boston bloggers Sarah Winchester, Erin Gates and  Marni Elyse Katz.  One Nation, under God, [...]

  3. Berså said

    Love the photos – and love the city of Boston too! I would love to live there!! :) So relieved to hear you and your family are doing good! Take care, my thoughts are with Boston right now!
    Hugs from Sweden/ Maria

  4. Eleanor said

    No words. Just xoxo.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 185 other followers

