The kids are all right

October 18, 2012

Late last night, as I was perusing my Pintrest boards, I caught sight of a fabulous photograph of a child. We are not talking the Christmas card family photography with which we are all familiar, but a cool, editorial style fashion image. It lead me to my new obsession…the blog Smudgetikka. The site is penned by Linda McLean, fashion director at Junior Magazine, a UK based publication. She blogs about her job, location scouting and all the great editorials she sees for children’s fashion. (What is it about Europeans and great children’s clothing?!?! No cartoon characters and silly princess crap, just darling, age appropriate clothes.)

This now has my mind churning with ideas for a children’s fashion shoot. I adore working with my fashion clients and would love to bring that look to a children’s shoot.

Here are some editorials pulled from Smudgetikka blog.

_

I love the magical feel of this woodland themed shoot, by Beatrice Heydiri for Collezioni Magazine.

_

And the princess in armor of this one by Emma Tunbridg.

_

And Anders Hald for Petit Nord

I love all of them so much! Now excuse my while I go dress up my daughter in a Celtic warrior suit of arms and go photograph her by the water on a cloudy blustery day.

3 Responses to “The kids are all right”

  1. maia said

    Wonderful costume!

  2. Thank you Sarah, what a lovely post and very much appreciated. Kids fashion photography is so creative and fun at the moment, there are some amazing photographers working in the field.

  3. anne said

    gorgeous photos! I want the clothes myself featured in the woodland shots!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 201 other followers

