White Chocolate & Peppermint Bark

December 19, 2011

For as long as I can remember, my mother has made white chocolate candies for the Holidays.  In particular, white chocolate & peppermint bark.  The stuff is to die for…we are talking crack addictive level goodness.  Old roommates, office colleagues and friends would begin to ask me if my mom was sending the chocolates sometime right around Thanksgiving.  Without fail, that tin full of homemade candy would arrive shortly thereafter.  This year I decided to try my own hand at making my Christmas favorite to share with many of my new wonderful clients and friends.  Thankfully I had a batch of my mother’s on hand to taste test compare.  One burnt batch and 2 1/2 pounds of white chocolate later, I had the whole double broiler thing down to successfully melt chocolate.

_______________

4 Responses to “White Chocolate & Peppermint Bark”

  1. cecilia said

    Sarah, I love the packaging, too! We have similar traditions – my mom’s Christmas cookies, and my cousins’ oatmeal crisps (which actually arrived yesterday and are already gone!) I love that you took on your mom’s role!

    That Vermont photo is my next purchase. And FYI my friends loved your Whistler one!

    • Sarah Winchester said

      Sure,I order my chocolates and peppermint from Cake Art in Atlanta.

      http://www.cakeart.com or you can call and order via the phone at 770-493-1505 but you can probably buy them lots of places.

      Ingredients
      • Merkins 1 lb. White Chocolate
      • Candy crunch Peppermint Red & Green 1lb

      I typically use 5lb of white chocolate per 1 lb of peppermint.

      Instructions
      • Use a double broiler to melt the chocolate. I don’t have one so use a 2 inch or so deep pan with some water.
      • Heat the water to almost a boil. Then place a 2 quart pot in the pan of water.
      • Place the white chocolates in the pot (I only heat up about 1 1/2 lb at a time).
      • Stir until the white chocolate until smooth and creamy.
      • Pull off stove and stir in peppermint
      • Pour the chocolate onto a cookie sheet
      • Place cookie sheet into freezer for 10 min (line the cookie sheet with wax paper helps)
      • Break into pieces and eat :)

      I hope this helps.

      Sarah

  2. Tonya said

    Sarah, It looks absolutely delicious and quick. Do you have a receipe you can share? Love to make some for the neighbors and running out of time. Love the pic for the tins!

    Tonya

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 201 other followers

