Turkey Time

November 23, 2011

I am in Atlanta for Thanksgiving and my final trip before I am grounded.  Then all I have to do is sit around and wait for baby…well that and get in as much work, organizing, going out to dinners, everything, done before the little cherub enters our life in January.  I posted this last year around this time, but thought I would share it again, as it is one of my favorite holiday recipes.

I am sure there are as many ways to make mashed potatoes as there are families that make them, but this is my family’s way; passed down from my great-grandma Finnegan.  It is not a terribly difficult recipe; it just takes a little time.  I swear, the end result is the creamiest, most savory and seriously delicious mashed potatoes on this earth…like better than dessert good.  My mom and I are making them tomorrow.

_______________


Gorgeous Platine Bleue eggs I found.

________________

Great-grandma Finnegan’s Mashed Potatoes

Ingerdients

3 lb. or 12 medium sized potatoes

8 oz. package of cream cheese

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup sour cream

1/2 cup milk

2 eggs (lightly beaten)

_______________

Steps:

1. Boil potatoes until cooked and tender (test with a fork).  Then peal potatoes while they are still hot.  The hot potato skin should just peal off by hand.  (Maybe wear gloves too…they can be really hot.)

2. Beat and mash potatoes while hot and add the cream cheese and butter.  *It is easiest to cube up the butter and cream cheese and blend them in with the hot mashed potatoes.  The heat helps melt the cream cheese and butter in smoothly.

3. Add eggs and milk together as one and blend

4. Salt and pepper to taste if you like

5. Place in 9 x 13 glass, oven safe dish and refrigerate (Do not freeze)

_______________

To serve:

Preheat oven to 350˚F and cook covered for 30 minutes or until warm throughout.

_______________

Would love to hear any feed back if people try this recipe.  Let me know what you think.  I think they are the best on the plant. :)

One Response to “Turkey Time”

  1. Eleanor said

    Hope your day was lovely~ safe travels home!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

