The Great White North

August 25, 2011

So finally after settling in a bit from our move, recovering from travel and catching up a bit on work, I have processed and edited my photographs from our trip to Whistler and Vancouver, Canada.  Prior to this trip I had never been to the Pacific Northwest region of the world, so I was thrilled to have the opportunity to explore a place I had never been.  Let me tell you, the mountains of Whistler did not disappoint.  In fact they exceeded any expectation I may have had.

Formed by volcanoes and located in that infamous pacific ring of fire, the coastal mountains making up Whistler are spectacular.  They rise up straight from sea level in Vancouver to almost 7500 feet, capped year round with snow and glaciers.  I can only imagine this is a hint of what the Himalayas look like.  The air felt cleaner, the sky bluer and water crystal clear.  I am already plotting how to get back there in the winter with my skis.  That mountain is amazing.

_______________

_

Sunday Farmers Market in Whistler

_

The yummiest most gorgeous cherries I have ever tasted

_

_

_

We tacked on a couple of nights in Vancouver before our journey back across the continent.  The city was beautiful and full of great shops.  Just look at these adorable Eames rockers for children.

_

Beautiful Chinese gardens with an unexpected resident

_

In short, if you are contemplating a trip to British Columbia…book it!

3 Responses to “The Great White North”

  1. cecilia said

    Love the Canadian flags. Would you sell an 8×10 – matted and signed?

  2. cecilia said

    Definitely. Email or tweet me. No rush. Thinking of a Christmas gift to a Canadian friend. I love it! I’m thinking a 5×7 in an oversized mat (finished frame size 11 x 14) would be cool too. Let me know. Again no rush. I can also have it matted at my frame shop and then send back to you to sign, or hey, actually MEET you to sign! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

