Summer on Nantucket

June 29, 2011

After living in Boston for almost two years, I am convinced that there is no better place to celebrate summer than New England.  With bright blue skies, the smell of the sea and the sun on your face, those dark, cold January days seem like a distant memory.  I recently took a little jaunt over to Nantucket to photograph, take in a concert and soak up a lot of sun, and I am officially in love.  The history along Nantucket’s cobble stone streets, mixed with a laid back island feel and gorgeous sandy beaches, makes the foggy island one magical place.  It is right up my alley.

_

Aside from the sun and surf, you get some world class shopping and dinning.  I spied some beautiful Dunes and Duchess candelabras at the gorgeous shop Trillium.

Secret garden walkway to Trillium

_

I walked up and found all this splendor inside

_

Another lovely shop,  Belongings.

_

Back in October, Stacy Kunstel and Michael Parternio let sit in on this photo shoot featured in this month’s New England Home!  A Nantucket full circle for me from my trip in October.

_

Of course no trip to Nantucket would be complete with out a visit to Cisco Brewers.  They asked me to photograph their new wine tasting room and distillery room.  Wine and vodka…two of my favorite things.

_

I have said this before, but their bloody mary mix is the best on the planet!

_

Goodbye Nantucket.  I promise to be back soon.

_

8 Responses to “Summer on Nantucket”

  1. Keri Cole said

    This innkeeper needs to go to there, pronto. Where would you recommend staying?

    • Sarah Winchester said

      We stayed at the Brass Lantern Inn. Not bad price wise and great location, but he decor was a little grandmas house and the breakfast was just a continental spread…let’s just say it was no Blue Horse Inn. I still dream of your lemon ricotta pancakes. :)

      Veranda House looked lovely but a little pricey in the summer.

  2. Jessica said

    Sarah – your pictures are gorgeous and bring back fond memories of spending every summer there growing up – how I miss those carefree days and that beautiful island! Glad you had a great time and hope you are well!

    • Sarah Winchester said

      Thanks sweetie. It is so lovely. Glad to bring back fun summer memories. Hope you all are having a great summer so far.

  3. Jaclyn Donovan said

    Sarah these are beautiful and are making me so homesick! August can’t come soon enough. Beautiful job.

  4. cecilia said

    Sarah, Holy cow! The ducks and everything, are almost identical! (Albeit, your photography is amazing, and I could never ever replicate, even if I had had my Nikon D80!) I have a feeling we were there on different days. We’ve been here since June 24th, and my photo was taken the other night June 29th…and I wouldn’t have posted had I seen your post! (Sorry!! I’m behind on my daily blog reads…) But gosh, the way the boats are tied and and the boats are positioned you would’ve thought we took our photo minutes from each other. I love taking photos at that spot – one of my favorite Christmas cards was pre-triplets, our son sitting there with the lighted Xmas tree in the red dinghy over Christmas Stroll weekend. Were you there around dusk? All of your Nantucket photos are amazing! So funny, I took a photo of the 3 green lanterns hanging in the tree outside Trillium – and Belongings is one of my favorites too. Love the Triple 8 label with 3 tomatoes, and may have to linkbank here in the future!

  5. cecilia said

    We were in town a few times on the 26th, but not on Easy St. Was the concert Joshua Tree? My husband was there with friends, but I was home with the kids. When we do run into each other eventually, I’ll bet we’ll discover six degrees of separation. :)

  6. […] virtually), but her photography is amazing – I love the details she captures – and HERE you can get a good dose of Summer on Nantucket.  Love the way the blogosphere brings like minds […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

