Inspiration and solitude

May 25, 2011

One sign that I am becoming a true New Englander is the fact I love watching Chronicle!  For those of you not from these parts, Chronicle is a nightly news/local interest/cultural TV program that covers all things New England, from main streets and back roads to restaurants and get away spots.  I love it, as it often features hidden gems right in your own back yard.  Apparently it has been a mainstay of New England viewers for decades now, so I guess it is a right of passage that I should come to love it.

The other night, while digging into my DVR, I watch an episode about the islands of New England and some of their more unique inhabitants.  One of whom is photographer Alexandra de Steiguer.  She is the winter caretaker on the Isles of Shoals.  An island nine miles off the coast of New Hampshire.  In the summer, the island is filled with vacationers and visitors, but in the winter months de Steiguer is its sole inhabitant.  From these winter months comes her stunningly beautiful photography.  I was so taken by it that I just had to share.

Shoals – Rocks and Water No. 24
© alex de steiguer

_

Three Pools of Sky
© alex de steiguer

_

Shoals – Rock Pool No. 1
© alex de steiguer

_

Seasmoke and Wave
© alex de steiguer

_

Shoals – Rocks and Water No. 20
© alex de steiguer

_

Rock Pool Study No. 1
© alex de steiguer

_

Shoals – Breakwater
© alex de steiguer

_

Chapter 7
© alex de steiguer

_

De Steiguer also worked as a crew member aboard traditionally rigged sailing vessels.

Underway – Bow Watch
© alex de steiguer

_

Underway – Eastbound Watch
© alex de steiguer

_

2 Responses to “Inspiration and solitude”

  1. Keri Cole said

    Gorgeous! I’ve always thought I might be great at a life of solitude…

  2. I could do solitude too as long as I have the internet!

    You already know how New England has stolen my heart…but these photos have reaffirmed that it may just be one of the most beautiful places on Earth!
    22 days til Boston!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 184 other followers

