Brimfield Beauty

May 12, 2011

Yesterday I trekked out to western Massachusetts to the fields of Brimfield with my studio mate Erin and her rock star assistant Lindsey, amid some chilly temperatures and foreboding clouds.  (For those unfamiliar with Brimfield, it is an antique fair held three times a year.)

We saw some crazy beautiful items at many different price points, and spied some pieces already sold with marker tags reserving them for the likes of J. Crew and Tommy Hilfiger…you better believe I’ll be on the look out for some of these items in their fall photo shoots.  I took photos, found a few portable treasures and filed away furniture and designs for my future dream home…one day.

_________________

Romantic, Regency and Louis XIV type furniture abounded and there were some particularly beautiful pieces.

_

These inlaid pearl Moroccan chairs were in need of a little TLC, but I fell in love with them.  I mean, just look at the rams head detail.

_

Everything about these chairs was amazing, especially the chinoiserie fabric.

_

I always love displays and pieces that evoke a cabinet of curiosities/apothecary feel.

_

Big trend movement: out with chrome, in with brass and copper.

_

After reading Stacy Kunstel’s blog post about malachite, I seemed to see it everywhere.  A trend or just a heightened awareness?  Probably both

_

Gorgeous set of dark amber glasses complete with champagne, white wine and red wine glasses.

_

More Brimfield treasures

The mounting of this piece was exquisite.

_

Perfect little children’s tractor – “blue like a Ford, green like John Deer” as my friend’s little country boy would say.

_

While prices seemed a bit on the high side and the weather a bit on the chilly, I had a great time.  Given an unlimited bank account, and room in our home I probably would have scooped up half of what you see in these images, but for now I will enjoy them in photos.  A trip out there is always a long exhausting day, but always full of great inspiration.

53 Responses to “Brimfield Beauty”

  1. I am overcome with jealousy and lust over such gorgeous objects.
    This is simply why I love “stuff”…there are just way too many treasures out there!

    • Josette said

      I resonate with you Eleanor. They are such amazingly curious objects. How I’d love to have the seahorses on my shelf. And those Chinoise chairs? Wow. Great post!

  2. WOW looks like you found some great pieces! I can’t wait to go on Friday!!

  3. Cecilia said

    Sarah,
    Your photography is beautiful! I love the way you captured all of the beautiful elements in each of the pieces with such a unique angle and perspective. Don’t you want to go back? One day is never enough for me! I’ve been contemplating schlepping out there again tomorrow!!

  4. Bibbie said

    Sarah,
    Your photography is wonderful! You are so good!
    Seeing all these lovely treasures reminded me of Tracy! You are kindred spirits…both filled with creativity. I loved your reference to our little “country boy”.

    • Sarah Winchester said

      I know! Jack is my inspiration! What a cutie. So fun bumping into the Withers in random Atlanta hot spots…Chick-fil-a and the Apple store :)

  5. Beautiful :) The last photo reminds me of my grandpa; he collected those old tractor toys, which made for some fun growing up.

  6. Incredible treasures — truly amazing! :)

    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed…

    Mikalee

  7. pezcita said

    What is the object in the first picture? It almost looks like a doll bed or a bookcase, but I can’t tell which.

  8. Tyler said

    I wish I had thought to have gone there when I lived in western MA. Those items are beautiful!

  9. newsy1 said

    Always wanted to go to Brimfield. use to read about it in some of the decorator magazines that are no longing publishing. My whole house is “used” stuff from antiques to shabby chic, I love stuff with a history and you have really captured it with your camera.

  10. Great post! I love the Moroccan chairs, they’re gorgeous.

  11. Awesome stuff. I love the old champagne glasses! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

  12. Great photos I really like the one with the mirror on the bench. The reflection in the mirror is like peeking into another place. Thank you for sharing. Congrats on being freshly pressed.

  13. Eva McCane said

    amazing photos and fabulous pieces! i must visit very soon! are things pretty pricey or somewhat reasonable?? thanks for sharing!
    http://www.icouldntmakethisshitup.wordpress.com

  14. Your items are beautiful! Thanks for sharing :)

  15. Such gorgeous pieces! I might just have to trek out there myself!

  16. sannekurz said

    If I were there I needed a laaaaaarge wallet full of cash…

  17. jollof said

    The green stones are my favourite. Congrats on getting FP’ed :)

  18. sarahnsh said

    Wow, the pictures are great and one of my favorites are the blue stones. Definitely very unusual, but fun little antiques!

  19. These photographs are so beautiful. I also thought the glass stones were the most beautiful.

  20. Loving all of it, and I really want some porcupine quills now!

  21. chrissie said

    The chairs with the Chinese fabric are beautiful !

  22. Katie said

    I used to have a tractor just like that one! Except mine was red :)

  23. Wonderful post and amazing photos. I just took a class in understanding antique furniture and would love to have the opportunity to visit Brimfield one day. Your post makes me even more determined and ready to start observing malachite and seeing if any Moroccan chairs cross my path.

  24. emfilmgeek said

    IYour photography is awesome… I don’t know if it’s the coffee I’m drinking but your pictures evoked a sense of cool, specifically the emerald colored clear stones picture… I’ve just recently found my love of photography as I learned more about myself.. I saw this documentary called Discover the Gift, did some of their exercises and was vivified by rediscovering myself.. Heard of it? I definitely recommend it http://on.fb.me/pQzaaR

  25. Sarah Winchester said

    Thank you all for the wonderful comments. I am so thrilled to have new readers too the blog. Hope you check back often and welcome!

  26. Amazingly beautiful antiques. Thank you for sharing.

  27. Great photos. I’ll admit, my favorite was the ones of the glass chunks because it made me think of rock candy. Yum. Looks like a wonderful day :)

  28. cherry said

    beautiful… love the sea horses…

  29. May I say exquisite looking antiques? :)

  30. TL said

    Your photos are really nice. Great shooting!

  31. absolutly gorgeous~!

  32. gaycarboys said

    I would kill to have seen these displays. I would spend all my time looking these things out.Antiquing is my favourite pastime.

  33. the furniture is so beautiful, i love the antiquey look

  34. The Goatpoet said

    Such Beautiful images Milady… I totally agree with You re loving the Cabinet of Curiosities/Apothecary pieces…. Brimfield is a veritable mine of wonderments it would seem!!!

    Marty 8^)=

  35. Oh my goodness…. I loooove antiques, and your article/pictures about this show is fabulous! I especially love the window frames, that appear to be from a church. Great job!

  36. My husband and I LOVE Brimfield, despite only one visit about 6 years ago. Your photography has captured that sense of the diamond-in-the-rough/hidden treasure around every corner that IS Brimfield. Thank you for the re-visit!

  37. What adorable photos! love the selection of things

  38. eunachaw said

    I love antiques. Certainly you have good taste for it. Incredible photos.

  39. niasunset said

    Wonderful, I can be lost there, I loved them all. Thank you, and congratulations on being Freshly Pressed. with my love, nia

  40. amberluvrs said

    Beautiful pictures I really loved the dark amber champagne glasses, and the glass pieces thanks for sharing.

  41. Dian Wijayanti said

    Ooooohhh!!! Magnifique!! :D I wouldn’t realize how wonderful these stuffs were it not for your amazing photoshot as well! Thanks for sharing and make me realize the beauty of these things!!! :D

  42. I need those SeaHorses!

  43. admin said

    I enjoyed reading this post… Great report.

  44. "Occam Blade" said

    I live out this way, in western Massachusetts, and the Brimfield Fair is a real destination. Glad you made a visit this way. A somewhat similar venue is the Paradise City Arts Festival in Northampton, MA. It has many high-end pieces of art, fashion and attendant furniture. Some of the pieces are genuinely incredible. Being a Boston expatriate, it’s nice to be able to get the best of both worlds of the couuntry and the city.. Good luck with your future photographic pursuits….!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

