Hollywood Regency – Miami Beach

May 4, 2011

On this rainy New England spring day, I found myself looking back through my photos of our Bahamas trip and realized I forgot to share our little one night stay in Miami.  Not wanting to smell like boat people on a long flight back to Boston, I insisted an overnight stay in Miami after our 8 days at sea.  We had all these unused Marriott points, and in an effort to be a little cost conscious we decided to try and use them.  I initially turned my nose up at the thought, for all I could envision was some Courtyard Airport Marriott…yuck, I’d rather stay on the boat another night.  Plus, I had my heart set on staying at a beautiful Kelly Wearstler designed hotel like The Tides or The Viceroy, but then I saw the Eden Roc.  Built in the 1950′s the Eden Roc hosted the likes of Elizabeth Taylor, Katherine Hepburn, Lauren Bacall and Humphrey Bogart.  Now owned by Marriott the hotel just went under a huge renovation.  Needless to say, I cashed in our points and booked it.  After 8 days at sea, the Eden Roc was a fantasy.

Take a look at all this gorgeous renovated Hollywood Regency style.

The Lobby bar

Italian marble and polished terrazzo floors.

_

_

Gorgeous rosewood columns.

_

With some cool Peter Tunney art.

_

When winter rolls around next year, you can bet I will be booking it back down there for some cocktails and sun!

One Response to “Hollywood Regency – Miami Beach”

  1. cecilia said

    That “Nothing Happens” sign is very cool – I love the oversized scale! Really like how thick and chunky those tripod bases are on the lamps with the red drum shades. Nice that you could use some travel points on such a treat!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers

