The Life Aquatic – I’m on a boat!

April 11, 2011

Our collecting trip has come to a close, and as I sit at my computer downloading my 500+ photos and avoiding my stinky bag of laundry, I am reveling in the post trip haze of exhaustion, exhilaration and nostalgia.  My husband and I were asked to volunteer for the 2011 Bahamas colleting trip, back in November 2010 and have been waiting in eager anticipation for this adventure, like a 6-year-old on Christmas Eve.  Let me tell you, the trip was everything and more.  It was the adventure of a lifetime or perhaps now an annual adventure, as we had such an amazing time.  To help give you blog readers a little peek into our 10-day adventure, I wanted to share with you a little photo journal of what life out to sea on a New England Aquarium trip is like.  First up, life on a boat

____________

Life on the Coral Reef II

The Coral Reef II research vessel was our home, work place and transportation for the week at sea.  While the quarters could feel a little tight, she served us well.

The Coal Reef II

She was yar alright.  Well, maybe not “yar” but she got the job done.

_

The deck

Where we prepped for dives, housed the fish we collected, and relaxed as we motored from one site to the next.

_

The bridge

Captain’s quarters, wheelhouse, and zodiac boats for shore trips

_

The Salon

Where we ate, relaxed and studied our fish identifications.

_

The engine room

Loud and hot, this room powered us through some high seas.

_

Below deck- Our cabins

I slept like a baby in these little bunks, and believe it or not, they felt like a luxury after a long day of diving.

_

Up next: day-by-day account of our adventure, and how we actually collected those little fish.  P.S. Fish are WAY smarter than I had ever thought.

One Response to “The Life Aquatic – I’m on a boat!”

  1. What an adventure! Any scary undersea encounters? I can’t wait to see more pics! Incredible!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

