Art for the soul

February 8, 2011

It pains me to think how long it has been since I was last in a museum (my honeymoon over a year ago, I think), so this past weekend I made a date with the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston.  The afternoon provided some much needed me time, where I just wandered from gallery to gallery.  I could let the art history major, nerd in me wax on about each piece I saw, but I think I will just share some images of what inspired me.

_______________

Patterns

 

_

 

Serene Sculpture

_

 

_

Troubled Sculpture

This piece is terrifying and fascinating all at once.

 

_

 

Field note sketch book.

_

Georgia O’Keefe

_

Animal & human inspiration

 

 

 

 

_

 

Clothing

 

_

I want a jacket with a sleeve like this…designers…please.

_

I spy a Missoni print!  Who knew the colonialist were so on trend and clearly not worried about copyright laws.

_

More beautiful graphic patterns

Love this color combination of green, orange, blue and white.

Ink blots folded to create symmetrical pattern.  Love, love, love this.

_

_

Woven rug.

_

Inlaid ivory on a chest

_

Chinoiserie wall paper in the Art of the America’s Federal gallery

_

2 Responses to “Art for the soul”

  1. anne keane said

    great photos – love the mfa.
    too funny about the Missoni print!

  2. [...] of the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston with my pal/studio mate/photog Sarah Winchester (see pictures here from our visit). I had not been in years and I was SO inspired by the new Art of America’s wing, [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 185 other followers

