Sherry Meatballs

December 22, 2010

At my brothers Christmas party we pulled out an oldie but goody family recipe, sherry meatballs.  The recipe comes from my Grandmother Margie Meyer, the daughter of my Great Grandma Finnegan of Holiday Mashed Potatoes fame. Those Midwest Irish ladies love their super healthy recipes…what else is going to get you though a Cleveland winter?!?!?  I thought I would share the recipe seeing as my husband and I were in charge of making 130 of these yummy suckers for my brother’s Christmas party…from scratch.

_

Original recipe written by my grandmother to my mother.

_


I love the vintage label on this container of Morton salt.  Makes me feel like grandma was there.

_

Brown

_

Simmer

_

The hubs, checking on the progress of his batch.

_

Serve…in a chaffing dish as directed by grandma in her recipe.  I am not kidding.  I love it.

_

It was a true, old fashion Christmas party with tons of food, drink, family and friends.  It was wonderful.

_______________

Grandma Margie’s Sherry Meatball Recipe

Ingredients:

1 lb ground sirlion

1/4 cup milk (Substitute soy milk for lactose intolerance…we did this at the progressive dinner.)

1/2 cup bread crumbs (For a wheat free/gluten free option I toasted gluten free bread, cooled them and then grounded the bread up in a food processor.)

2 tablespoons of minced onion

2 tablespoons of butter

1/2 sherry wine

1/2 of ketchup (Grandma wrote “catsup” on her recipe card…love it!)

1/4 teaspoon oregano

Steps:

1. Mix together 1lb. ground sirloin (I prefer lean, grass feed ground beef), 1/4 cup of milk, 1/2 bread crumbs, 2 table spoons of minced onion, 2 teaspoons of salt and shape into 50 tiny balls (I typically only get 25-30 meatballs per pound.  Grandma must have had some depression era magic or I make mine way too big.  Either way they are still just as yummy.

2. Melt 2 tablespoons of butter in saute pan or skilet.

3. Brown meatballs on all sides, drain, then return to pan.

4. Mix together 1/2 sherry wine, 1/2 ketchup, 1/4 teaspoon oregano, add salt to taste and pour over meatballs.

5. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes.  Shaking pan occasionally to cook meatballs evenly.

6. “Serve in chafing dish” according to grandma :)

 

They are so delicious and perfect for an appetizer of buffet item.  They also freeze and reheat great, so make as many as your can and enjoy them for a while.  Let me know if you try the recipe and that you think.   Cheers!

__________

2 Responses to “Sherry Meatballs”

  1. nancy said

    too many pages to print !!! I can’t tell what page is the reciepe.

  2. Gillian Labe said

    My mother always made these and served them as a entree, over wide egg noodles and served with fresh buttered peas. Just an idea for others.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

