Eco-Chic Tailgate

October 13, 2010

Leave it to my brother and the super cool town of Boulder to make even a football tailgate Eco-chic.  The other weekend we flew out to Boulder to visit my brother and his wife and to attend the Colorado vs. Georgia football game.  As far as living, Boulder has it down, the beautiful mountains, open public green spaces, every outdoor activity imaginable and a city plan where recycling and composting are available everywhere.

This approach even extended to our football tailgate.  My brother had the whole extravaganza planned to be almost waste free!  Between recyclable bottles, a returnable keg and compostable plates and cups the only waste we had were the packages in which the brats came from the store.  Here is a little breakdown of our Eco-friendly tailgate

_______________

Materials Needed:

1. Cups, plates, napkins and utensils

- the building block (aside from beer) of any tailgate.

Yes using washable plates and and glasses is ideal, but there are some occasions where you just need disposable items, and a football tailgate is definitely one of them.  My brother used Eco Products, Boulder based company specializing in single-use food service items.  They are compostable and made with Ingeo™ – a natural plastic made from renewable resources.

He purchased his at Ellie’s Eco Home Store, in Boulder who have an online store.  Eco Products also has an online store.  For those in the New England area EcoMV carries this line and Let’s Go Green in the Atlanta area carry them in their store front shops.

And they look sooooooo much cuter than those ugly red Solo cups.

_

2. Food

While we all pitched in on the food, we tried to buy local and organic. (Of course it is helpful that there is a Whole Foods on practically every corner in Boulder.) These cheese bratwurst my brother picked-up were so delicious, and good for you too…right?  I convinced myself it was okay to eat three because they were organic :)

 

Photos by me

_

3. Beverages

Keg beer – refillable and returnable, who knew the good old keg of beer could be so revolutionary

Wine - A must for this gluten-free girl

Bloody Mary – great way to start the tailgating day…all those veggies

Water- Where sun and alcohol are involved, so must there be a lot of water.  We also purchased gallon jugs of water to fill our cups instead of cases and cases of bottled water.  Hey, every little bit counts right?

_

4. Fun and fans

Our tailgate proved to be quite a mix of Georgia and Colorado fans.  My brother and I grew up in Georgia and lots of old friends were in town for the game, but he also attended CU Boulder for his MBA and his wife went their for her undergraduate degree.  Now I have been to many college football games in my life but I am never seen two groups of fans co-tailgate together so happily.  Maybe it was the beautiful Colorado mountains or the southern charm, but the good cheer of both sides added to festivities, and if positive energy doesn’t help with sustainable living practices I don’t know what does. :)

 

Georgia fans

 

_

Colorado fans

 

27 Responses to “Eco-Chic Tailgate”

  1. Ah, makes me miss college. Thanks for posting!

  2. runtobefit said

    This is a great idea. Saving the earth and having a great time doing it!

    http://www.runtobefit.wordpress.com

  3. Save the earth…and save the taste buds. It’s a win-win.

    And now I’m eco-hungry. Thanks a lot. ;)

  4. writeway73 said

    Great post. My boyfriend loves football and now I know just how to make our tailgates better!

  5. wineguider said

    Organic cheese bratwurst is indeed healthy and is one of the leading methods of weight loss being used in Hollywood this year, well done!
    Seriously, great blog, and that really did make me laugh, thank you!
    -Wineguider, http://wineguider.wordpress.com

  6. ESC said

    Great idea. The fact that it is so easy to do should encourage more to do the same! I visited Boulder once (I’m from the UK) and thought it was beautiful. Was living in Atlanta at the time so this is doubly relevant. I hope the eco-chic tailgate catches on.

    http://www.lamodeverte.com

  7. roarmkting said

    I just wanted to say you have an amazing camera/photography skills.

  8. Well, I do not have a Whole Foods nearby but I am sure going to look into finding those bio-degradable plates and cups. Thanks for the info and for getting freshly pressed!

  9. Gina Mortenson said

    Beautiful photos Sara! And… I am with you…no better way to get strong for a long tailgating day than drinking your veggies. :) Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  10. Looks like you really know how to throw a party cool post.

    Wishing you success and the best days.

  11. Great advice! Next time I plan to tailgate at a Northwestern game, I’ll plan an eco-chic event. Thanks.

  12. santasown said

    Love the effort you made to be eco friendly and having a great time while doing it! We just created a new line of Christmas outdoor LED lights that save 80%-90% of electricity and is eco-friendly as well, and we’re really proud of it. It just feels good to accomplish something while protecting the environment at the same time too. I really enjoyed your blog, hope you will have some tips on being eco-friendly during the holiday season!

  13. We are Saving the earth in all Kinds of way.

  14. Fabs said

    That’s Boulder for you. It’s pretty much Hippie/Indie College Kid central.

  15. Nice photos! I love it. :)

  16. Zahara said

    Go green! Hey, if you don’t talk to your reader’s about recycling, who will?
    Boulder looks great! I’ll have to put it on the old bucket list…
    come by my blog sometime!

  17. Fabulous post! What a fun & festive way to support the Green Movement! We, at Fair Trade Trends, definitely dig your style.

    Peace and Love,

    Your Fair Trade Trendsters, http://fairtradetrends.com/

  18. If they really wanted to save the earth, they would have gotten organic, non-meat or dairy cheese/bratwurst tofu. I was kidding, but maybe I’ll invent that.

  19. Andrea J. Phillips said

    Great post! This article came up in a search I was doing for work and I HAD to click through to read about an “Eco-Chic Tailgate”!

    Sounds wonderful…I lived in Denver for a few years growing up and seriously considered going to college there. Such a great city!

    @AndreaJPhillips

  20. Great blog, Exceptional article. Eco-Chic Tailgate is really a meaning full blog.
    I like all its travel related article.

  21. You have proved it. Having fun in the eco-way !!

  22. Laura said

    OMG I LOVE Boulder, I spent some time there and a little town 21 miles up the mountains called Nederland……….LOVE IT! Everybody needs to tailgate like that! Way to go! :)

  23. Boulder is an awesome place! Nice post.

  24. J DUBBS said

    that is fantastic! hopefully it catches on :) i can definitely remember all the garbage after those college football tailgates

  25. Luke said

    Awesome post. And thanks for supporting Eco-Products. I’m the COO there and just word of your posting. We appreciate the loyal support of forward thinkers like yourself.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 185 other followers

