A New England 4th of July – Duxbury

July 6, 2010

Let me tell you, Duxbury knows how to do the 4th of July!  (They even have a website.) We are talking beach, ocean, boats, parade, road race, fireworks, family, cookouts…you name it.  My weekend in Duxbury yielded the most storybook 4th of July.   New Englanders take the 4th to another level.  I guess having so much Revolutionary history here really sets the tone.  I have some very dear and old family friends (we are talking more than 20 years) who live in Duxbury, MA. and invited my husband and I  to spend the 4th of July weekend with them.  What a beautiful weekend!

When I was 11 years old my family visited our friends one summer and ever since that trip, Duxbury always represented this perfect, quintessential New England town for me.  Well let me tell you, it is still lives up to that 11 year old girl’s memory.  Breathtaking views of the marsh and bay, radiant sunsets, boats and families…the place is almost too perfect.  I just love it.  It makes me want to run away to the country, buy a boat and tend to my hydrangea garden all day long…too bad there is that whole working to make money thing. :)

_______________

Bonfire

On the evening of the 3rd of July, the town throws a huge bonfire.  We walked over to the beach at sunset to see the spectacle.

What a sight.

The light was wonderful.

Steve took some photos of me.

_______________

4th of July

The day started of with a Road Race.  We went to the home of my freinds’ parents/grandparents, who live on the race route to hand out water.  Our water cups were all lined up as the lead car drove by and the elite runners soon followed.

Ready and waiting for thirsty runners

_

Parade

Then we headed back to my friends’ house for a cookout and the parade.  They live right on the route.

Vintage cars

_

Goodies thrown from the floats.

______________

Dog days of summer

What would summer be without sweet lovable labs?   Yellow labs, George and Olivia are hilarious.

At one point I thought Steve might take one home with us…

_______________

Evening Cruise

That evening we took their boat over to Plymouth to watch the fireworks.  The fireworks were great and a ton of fun but the sunset was breathtaking, going from a brilliant orange to a deep purple.

Happy Birthday America, what a great weekend.

3 Responses to “A New England 4th of July – Duxbury”

  1. We had conversations this weekend about that place and none of you were kidding!
    That is essentially what I love about New England…it feels like America.
    New England represents to me all the reasons I love this great country of ours….
    With a sigh and a swoon I will scroll up and drool over your photos some more…

  2. Blythe said

    Sarah, you look like you are 12 (in a good way) in the pics Steve took of you! HAHA

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

