Alexandra and Shawn’s Garden Wedding

May 20, 2010

The other weekend one of my dearest friends, Alexandra, got married.  It was the most beautiful, romantic wedding I have ever seen; ceremony in a garden under a tree, dinner at long, family style tables in the grass and dancing under the stars.  It was perfection.  We danced our feet off, laughed till it hurt and celebrated into the night.  I even did the worm on the dance floor! (It is one of my secret talents and I am actually pretty killer at it :))

_______________

I designed the invitations as my wedding gift, using warm grays and a sanserif font to reflect the relaxed, garden wedding.


Shawn and Alexandra love to bike so I drew a bicycle built for two as their reply card, and I just love the font I found for their computerized calligraphy.

_______________

The wedding was held at the groom’s childhood home in Los Altos Hill, CA in the beautiful garden and barn.  It felt like a movie, and a shot a million photos trying to capture it all.



Continuing with the bicycle theme.

The dinner was delicious.  I think I ate my body weight in the polenta.

As night fell the dancing began.

Then it was time to send the happy couple off into the night.  Sigh.

Best wishes Alexandra and Shawn.  xoxo



4 Responses to “Alexandra and Shawn’s Garden Wedding”

  1. Eleanor said

    I love it when people pull off the most casually elegant affairs ~ and this one looks like it was almost effortless making it that much more breathtaking!
    Stunning photos, and I love the invites!

  2. Helen Curry said

    Awesome pictures! I am proud of you, my awesome daughter-in-law!

  3. […] 16, 2010 While I was out in California a few weeks ago for my friend Alexandra’s wedding, I also made a point to swing up to St. Helena in the Napa Valley where another one of my close […]

  4. […] My husband and I attended a beautiful wedding in San Francisco last weekend.  I am just so in love with the vibe, the creativity, the people and the overall feel of that city.  There are so many different neighborhoods and areas, each with a unique personality, while permeating that California cool/San Francisco sophistication.  The only downside was that due to work schedules we had to make it a whirlwind two day trip.  Although I did have all day on Saturday to wander the city with one of my dearest friends, who now lives right in the middle of wonderful San Francisco.  I posted photos of her May wedding here. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 201 other followers

