Hello Joe’s!

March 16, 2010

Last night my husband and I went to the opening of the new Joe’s American Bar and Grill on Newbury Street.  The old Joe’s was located directly across the street from my hubby’s old apartment and to say he was a regular there would be putting it mildly.  The lower bar basically served as his kitchen for the past eight years, so the wonderful people at Joe’s were kind enough to invite us to the lovely private opening they held for the new space.  The new Joe’s is situated one block down on the corner of Newbury and Exeter.  For you old Bostonians…the old TGI Friday’s, but TGI Friday’s it is not!



They basically gutted to whole place exposing the beautiful brick work and stone foundation.  The bistro chairs  by the large glass windows in the upper bar section gave off that Parisian feel…helped in part by the glossy rainy streets.



The upper bar is made of a beautiful butcher block.  I love the rich, grainy wood.




The new menu boasts some wood fire grilled pizzas, and they even offer a gluten free version!!!!!!  I have never seen gluten free pizza on any menu.  This wheat and gluten intolerant girl is in heaven.  I didn’t order one, but the woman beside me did and said it was delicious.  I can’t wait to go back and try one.


But the pièce de résistance is the fully opening glass roof and doors.  We had a sneek peak last night when the rain finally stopped.  I can’t wait to be parked there on a gorgeous spring day watching Newbury Street walk by.



The Dream Team

Bridget, Travis, Denise and Hash.  Photo by Steve Curry

The new space had a mixed feel of street cafe and relaxed open kitchen (a la Napa Valley).  The official opening is tomorrow, St. Patrick’s Day, and the weather is suppose to be gorgeous.  I think I see a gluten free pizza and a Cider in my near future.



One Response to “Hello Joe’s!”

  1. Jenny B said

    I can’t wait to check it out! I noticed the change last week. My dad and I always used to go to the old one when we were shopping, kind of sad to see it gone but the new one looks lovely!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers

