Ahhhhh Paris!

December 11, 2009

There is nothing like Paris…and Paris on your honeymoon…sigh…it was wonderful.  We spent most of our days walking around, popping into lovely little cafes and just enjoying each other.   The honeymoon haze was in full effect and I just loved it all.


_______________

We landed in early in the morning and thankfully our room was ready at 9 am!  We had a fabulous 4 hour nap before venturing our to see the city.

Espresso to help get us going that afternoon


(man I still look Jetlagged but who cares…I was on my honeymoon :))

_______________

The Louvre

We got to the Louvre late in the day (which I highly recommend).  We found that people were heading out long before the closing hours suggested and it didn’t seem as crowded as everyone always warns


While the group around the Mona Lisa was still quite large…


…the rest of the museum felt like our own private palace.  It was wonderful.  Adjacent to the Mona Lisa is Veronese’s Wedding at Canna and it is beyond impressive.  It is enormous and has so much other interesting things going on.

Good doggie

Bad kitty.

Spinone Italiano – I think we also spotted a Spinone Italiano dog in one of the many beautiful tapestries.

Doesn’t it look like my sister’s dog Jake?

First glimpse of the Eiffel tower from the Napoleon Apartments in the Richelieu wing.

Great photo by my husband

Fabulous jewelry

Reminds me so much of this gorgeous bracelet my siblings gave me last year for Christmas.  I love it so much.  I even wore it on my wedding day!

We had dinner that night at Café Marly which is located in the Louvre palace complex, just below the dramatic Napoleon Apartments. The restaurant was recommended to us by multiple people, and it did not disappoint.  After walking around the Louve all afternoon the atmosphere and location of the cafe made us feel like royal invited guest.  Well that and the delicious wine.

_______________


After dinner, we walked back to our hotel in the Left Bank

This glossy rainy street scene just screams Paris to me.


Oh yes, and the amazing sancerre wine just completed to whole picture.


All of that in just day one.?!?!  Part deux tomorrow, I promise.  Until then…dreaming of Paris.  Bonne nuit




2 Responses to “Ahhhhh Paris!”

  1. just found your blog and love it! Looking forward to reading more about Paris :-)

  2. Margarita said

    So gorgeous!! I love love love Paris, it looks like you had a fabulous time! Wine, food, and the eiffel tower. I was surprised at how little the Mona Lisa was in person, I expected a larger painting!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 201 other followers

