New Camera Lenses

October 26, 2009

For my birthday my parents gave me a very lovely check which I immediately took to Calumet Photographics.  I would go to their Chicago store when I was in graduate school all the time and was psyched to see they had a store in Cambridge, MA, so I hopped in Lady Liberty and headed over the Longfellow bridge over to Cambridge.

I have been using the Cannon Zoom 24-105mm f/4L IS USM for about 4 years now and have found it extremely versatile, especially for construction photography needing a wide range or zoom options, but I was ready to expand.  I was looking for a lens that would allow me to create more macro shots and would allow me to play more with dimension, and went into Calumet ready to play and try out some lenses.  I won’t bore you with too many unneeded details but I got overwhelmed fast and a very kind fellow customer started chatting with me and recommended I try a 60mm f/2.8 Macro or a 35mm f/2.  I loved them both!  I could adjust focus on object mere inches away from one another.  I decided to take both!  A very happy birthday to me indeed!

As I was leaving I asked this kind customer for his business card, so I could check out some of his work.  (Not to judge a book by its cover but from the looks of his camera equipment, this guy knew what he was doing, and I wanted to see what he was creating with it all)  I looked down at the business card and my eyes popped…a photojournalist for The Boston Globe!

Essdras_35mm_2009_10_16sm

I rushed home to look at his website, Essdras M. Suarez, and found the most beautiful and inspirational photographs.  I don’t want to infringe on any copyrite issues by posting images on my blog, but you must go to his website and see for yourself.  The breadth and range of his work is astounding.  There is also a great slideshow of his work on The Boston Globe site.  His travel photos are of course my favorite.  He seems to be able to effortlessly combine the most amazing light and composition.

________________________

Nothing special but having fun playing with my new lenses


On my street

NewLenses_35mm_2009_10_16-3

________________________

In the Public Garden

In the Garden


________________________

With Magnolia

Magnolia_35mm_2009_10_16


________________________

Student work for sure, but so exciting to feel like a student again.


One Response to “New Camera Lenses”

  1. [...] Essdras M. Suarez.  (Remember?!?!  The same wonderfully kind and knowledgeable photographer that helped me out in the photo store.) After meeting Essdrass and looking at his amazing work, I contacted him in the hope he might need [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 201 other followers

